Red Velvet’s “Red Flavor” is pleasant but generic

Red Relvet is back with summer-friendly “Red Flavor” after their jarring-but-catchy comeback “Rookie” earlier this year.  While definitely easier on the ears, “Red Flavor” lacks some of the catchiness that “lookie lookie my super lookie lookie” had.

The song starts off with the chorus, which is almost always a good thing in my book.  The rest of the song is kind of predictable, and there isn’t much to say about the song other than it sounds really generic (which isn’t always a bad thing).  The rapping from Irene and Yeri is really cringe as usual, and I’m sure it sounds even worse if you can understand Korean.

Something that I found interesting was the last few seconds, where the instrumental cuts out, and Wendy gets to sing a cappella (something similar is done in Girl’s Day’s “I’ll Be Yours”, which I also liked).

The music video, on the other hand, looks cheap.  While Wendy and Seulgi look really good, Joy and Yeri have horrible hair colors, and Irene has a horrible hair style.

Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 11.10.24 AM.png

LOL I’m sorry, I just wish that SM gave them a better MV.

At the very least, the girls seem to be doing well on the charts (currently #3 on Melon during non-peak hours).  Although generic, I probably wouldn’t skip it if I shuffle my playlist, which I suppose is a success.

Leave a Reply

